FURTHERMORE  grants in publishing

a program of the J. M. Kaplan Fund

The 2021 Alice Award

The 2021 Alice was awarded to the book Strata: William Smith’s Geological Maps edited by the Oxford University Museum of Natural History. Published in 2020 by the University of Chicago Press.

The Alice 2021 jury:

R.O. Blechman, Illustrator

Teresa Carbone, Program Director for American Art, Henry Luce Foundation

David R. Godine, Publisher

Sharon Helgason Gallagher, President & Publisher, Artbook/D.A.P.

William P. Kelly, Andrew W. Mellon Director, Research Libraries, NY Public Library

Max Rudin, President & Publisher, The Library of America

Ian Wardropper, Director, The Frick Collection

Pauline Willis, Director and CEO, American Federation of Arts

Chair: Jock Reynolds, Former Director, Yale University Art Gallery

The Alice 2021 short list:

The Art of Winold Reiss: An Immigrant Modernist by Marilyn Satin Kushner. Published in 2021 by the New-York Historical Society in association with D Giles Limited.

E. McKnight Kauffer: The Artist in Advertising. Published in 2020 by Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum in association with Rizzoli Electa.


Printing the Revolution! The Rise and Impact of Chicano Graphics, 1965 to Now. Published in 2020 by the Smithsonian American Art Museum in association with Princeton University Press.

The Alice 2021 videos:

2021 Alice Award event

Tristan de Lancey and Robert Macfarlane discussing the winner of the Alice

Alice awardees

Alice (pdf)


Copyright ©2014-2021 FURTHERMORE grants in publishing                                                                                                                                       Design by Parrilla Design Workshop

Post Office Box 667, Hudson, NY, 12534    Telephone: 518/828-8900