FURTHERMORE  grants in publishing

a program of the J. M. Kaplan Fund


2016 Alice Award

Kentucky by Design: The Decorative Arts and American Culture

Andrew Kelly, Editor,  University Press of Kentucky, Publisher

Frazier History Museum, Louisville, KY

The Alice Award 2016 Short List:


African Art in the Barnes Foundation: The Triumph of
L’Art nègre and the Harlem Renaissance

Barnes Foundation, Philadelphia, PA

Apparitions: Frottages and Rubbings from 1860 to Now

Hammer Museum,
Los Angeles, CA

and Menil Collection,
Houston, TX

Making it Modern: The Folk Art Collection of Elie and Viola Nadelman

New-York Historical Society,

New York, NY

A Portrait of Fashion:
Six Centuries of Dress at the National Portrait Gallery

National Portrait Gallery,

London, UK

In October, Joan K. Davidson will present the 2016 Alice Award in New York City.

The $25,000 Alice Award is sponsored annually by Furthermore grants in publishing, a program of the J. M. Kaplan Fund and awarded to an illustrated book of distinction. The candidates are chosen by the jury from among books previously supported by Furthermore.

For more information on the Alice Award 2016 click here.

Furthermore grants in publishing, a program of the J. M. Kaplan Fund, supports publication of nonfiction books that concern the arts, history, and the natural and built environment. Grant applications are accepted twice a year with deadlines of March 1 and September 1.

The program was founded in 1995 by Joan K. Davidson, Kaplan Fund trustee and president emeritus. Since its inception, Furthermore has assisted more than 1,000 publishing projects with grants that total almost $5 million.

Copyright ©2014-2016 FURTHERMORE grants in publishing

Post Office Box 667, Hudson, NY, 12534    Telephone: 518/828-8900    Fax: 518/828-8901